Black Caviar named Horse Of The Year

Black Caviar was last night crowned the 2011 Sky Racing Australian Racehorse of the Year. The unbeaten mare and her connections were the stars of the Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards presented by Sky Racing, Tabcorp and Staging Connections at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

Along with the overall Racehorse of the Year title, Black Caviar was named the Inglis Bloodstock Champion Sprinter and was voted the Staging Connections Most Popular Racehorse by the public.

With votes lodged on a 3-2-1 basis by senior racing administrators and members of the racing media nationwide, Black Caviar secured 301 of a maximum 318 votes in the Racehorse of the Year Award. So You Think had to be content with second on 208 votes with two-year-old Sepoy next on 58 votes and More Joyous fourth on 48.

Lonhro who completed a unique double tonight when named the Carrazzo Consulting CPAs Champion Sire for the first time. The Darley stallion amassed progeny earnings in excess of $8.7 million during the 2010-11 season with his standout performer being Doomben 10,000 winner Beaded.

Darley and head trainer Peter Snowden had further cause for celebration when their boom colt Sepoy collected the coveted Eliza Park Champion 2YO Award ahead of stablemates Helmet and Benfica.

The voting breakdown for the Racehorse of the Year and the individual category winners are as follows;

Sky Racing Australian Racehorse of the Year РBlack Caviar (301 votes), So You Think (208), Sepoy (58), More Joyous (46), Americain (11), Hay List (4), Zipping (3), Absolutely, Crystal Lily, Lion Tamer, My Kingdom Of Fife and Scarlett Lady (all 1).

Eliza Park Champion 2YO – Sepoy (318 votes), Helmet (174), Benfica and Satin Shoes (33), Elite Falls (25), Golden Archer (14), Smart Missile (13), Hot Snitzel and Pane In The Glass (10), Masthead (4), Mosheen and Uate (1).

New Zealand Bloodstock Champion 3YO Filly – Shamrocker (231 votes), Brazilian Pulse (105), Yosei (97), Scarlett Lady (58), Lights of Heaven (57), Crystal Lily (32), Absolutely (27), Dreamaway (22), Lone Rock (9) and Secret Admirer (4).

BPA Print Group Champion 3YO Colt or Gelding - Star Witness (150 votes), Sincero (137), Jimmy Choux (114), Ilovethiscity (68), Anacheeva (58), Lion Tamer (47), Playing God (40), Toorak Toff (16), Shootoff (11) and Erewhon (1).

Inglis Bloodstock Champion Sprinter - Black Caviar (318 votes), Hay List (167), More Joyous (65), Sepoy (45), Star Witness (18), Beaded (12), Response (6), Sincero (3) and Eagle Falls (2).

Monjon Australia Champion Middle Distance Performer - So You Think (310 votes), More Joyous (171), Whobegotyou (47), Shocking (32), Zipping (31), My Kingdom Of Fife and Sacred Choice (14), Rangirangdoo (7), Scenic Shot and Wall Street (5).

New Zealand Thoroughbred Marketing Champion Stayer – Americain (295 votes), So You Think (129), Descarado (83), Maluckyday (39), Zipping (37), Shamrocker (25), Cedarberg (19), Dreamaway (6), Herculian Prince (2) and Stand To Gain (1)

Mittys Champion Jumper – Black And Bent (123 votes), Vindicating (43), Al Garhood (32), Capecover (18), Kerdem (12), Man Of Class (7), Juan Carlos and Our Aristocrat (4), Famous Prince, Petushki and Zendi (3).

IRT Champion Australian-Bred International - Rocket Man (280 votes), Sacred Kingdom (100), Igugu (98), Kinshasa No Kiseki (44), Better Than Ever (32), Gingerbread Man (25), We Can Say It Now (23), Ultra Fantasy (12), Risky Business (6) and Delago Deluxe (4).

Comments are closed.